Frequently Asked Questions
- Obtain a learner's permit
- Go to a MVA location for a vision and multiple choice knowledge test
- Must be 15 years and 9 months of age
- Must be held for a minimum of 9 months before eligible for Provisional License (18 and under)
- Register on this website
- Complete 30 hours of classroom driver's ed. instruction *
- Complete 6 hours Behind the Wheel instruction * * Taken care of with our $330-$370 new driver education course
- Schedule an appointment on the MVA website
- Complete the skills test with an MVA tester
- You can:
- Sign up for Driver's Ed as soon as you turn 15
- Apply for a learner's permit at the age of 15 and 9 months
- Start a Driver's Ed class before you even get your Learner's Permit
- A classroom portion
- An in-car driving portion
- Complete 6 hours Behind the Wheel instruction
Currently we are offering weekday classes after school.
- Weekday after school classes:
- The classroom portion of the course is 10 days. We offer classes Monday through Friday and Monday through Thursday.
- Each class day is 3 hours with a small break.
New driver education courses are held online after school and also in at our Duke Street location in Prince Frederick. We hope to bring back In-Person Classes to Calvert County Public Schools starting in 2022/2023 school year.
- On the first day of class, you'll need to bring the following items:
- A pen and notebook to take notes
You will be able to self schedule once the classroom portion is complete. You'll do this via your student portal
There is a missed drive fee of $65.
- MVA policy requires that all students attend the first day of class.
- You cannot miss more than 4 days of class.
- If you miss any other class, other than the first day, you need to make up that class at a future date.
- You can always view the curriculum here.
Except in very rare circumstances, our instructors will pick you up at home or the location you request and drop you off at the location you request, if you live in Calvert county. Students outside of Calvert county should make arrangements with the school accordingly.
The state of Maryland allows students to take driver's education anytime they wish, before testing for a provisional license. However, we strongly recommend students start the process 30 days before going for their learner's permit. The classroom portion will help prepare them for the permit knowledge test and give them basic driving information before getting out on the road. Once the student gets their learner's permit, there is now a full window to complete drive time lessons with a certified instructor in a way that benefits all parties.
All Driving Schools in Maryland are given a 16 week buffer to complete drive times once the classroom finishes (if the student has a learner's permit). If a student waited until the end of their learner's permit holding period to take driver's education, that is fine, but PLEASE do not rush the school to complete drive times. If the student has had their permit for 5 months or longer (under 18) we will complete the drives well within the 16 week period.